Why Youth Pastors Shouldn’t Rule the World Reason #162

OK – I just decided that I’m not gonna ‘circle-up’ the sharing of my faults on Google+ or ‘manage my image’ via a Facebook fan page.  I’m just gonna throw out there ALL the screw-ups and mistakes I make (OK, MOST!) and I’m gonna theme it out on my blog with ‘Why Youth Pastors Shouldn’t Rule the World.’

“Why would you do that, Darren?” you might ask.

Some of it’s funny.  All of it’s fallible.  And my life in youth ministry has most certainly been a tale of grace and mercy beyond human capability.  And that’s the real reason.  Because even in the midst of being a royal mess, I’ve found grace, mercy, forgiveness, and acceptance – from Jesus, from church members, from family – and at times, even from myself (which is where I usually need to find it most.)

So walk with me and laugh a little as we explore ‘Why Youth Pastors Shouldn’t Rule the World’……well, at least not this one.   :)

So recently I have found myself occupying the pulpit, much to my chagrin.  I’m not a ‘preacher’ – I’ve avoided that role my entire life.  I’m not very good at it.  I don’t like studying.  I don’t like thinking too deeply.  And above all, I abhor using words that all start with the same letter to illustrate my points or cute little acronyms as a demonic device….um….mnemonic.

Plus, c’mon – I’m a youth pastor.  My filter is full of large holes….really.  Actually, it might be more accurate to say my large hole has very little filter.  I say ‘crap’ from the pulpit.  I tell the stories of others without asking permission first.  I scratch my butt.  (Well, I actually haven’t done that…..yet.)

This weekend I was talking about the Good Samaritan.  I was covering the section where the Samaritan tended the injuries of the wounded man with oil and wine.  What did I say??  “Oil and wine??  That doesn’t sound medicinal to me – that just sounds like a fun night.”

Oi vey!  Women and children in the room.  Holy people in the room.  GUESTS in the room.  What an idiot.

So reason #162 that Youth Pastors Should Not Rule the World??  We sometimes speak without thinking….

….do you ever do that?  It makes us human.  It makes us fallible.  It makes us real.  (Maybe those aren’t such bad criteria for world domination, afterall.)

So if you’re a youth worker who’s ever said something you shouldn’t have (like that guy preaching on Lot  ‘pitching his tents‘  near Sodom), take comfort.  Welcome to the club.  You screwed up.  Forgive yourself – God has.  And take comfort in the fact that you’ll probably never be asked to rule the world…..I know I do!

Author: Darren Sutton

I'm a dad - husband - veteran youth pastor. I'm trying to follow God's call on my life, despite my own shortcomings & because of His unfailing love.

2 thoughts on “Why Youth Pastors Shouldn’t Rule the World Reason #162”

  1. I sometimes (and by that I mean almost always) struggle with foot in mouth syndrome. Although compared to your faux pas mine are like swallowing my whole leg. Thanks for sharing.

  2. So right there w/ you! I talk to the youth all the time about their filters but I definitely need to check my own multiple times a day.
    Ahhhh, memories to look and laugh about when you do forget the filter!

Leave a Reply

