Real Stories from SYMC #29

Tony Myles.

I actually heard about Tony through my wife, Katie.  (See story #31.)  She served on a peer panel alongside him and several other youth workers.  Shortly after, I discovered Tony and I would be serving on a peer panel together.  Everything Katie said about him….totally true.  He was sensible and pragmatic, but transparent and authentic.  His words were loaded with wisdom and experience.  And I was shocked…..because Tony has crossed to the darkside.  He serves as a senior pastor.

Recently, Tony and I were spending some time together.  I was facing an issue similar to a situation he recently had faced.  I was so impressed with his listening ear.  I walked away from that conversation NOT with a gaggle of answers (which I wasn’t really seeking anyway.)  But I did leave thinking ‘Wow.  I would love that guy to be MY pastor.’  His congregation is surely blessed.  I hope they know it.

You’ll be blessed by lots of pastoral care and wisdom at SYMC – but only if you hurry up and get registered.  And if you’re looking for Tony, you can find him here.

Author: Darren Sutton

I've been in student ministry nearly 30 years…which generally just confirms how much I still don't know. Some days I'm the pizza-eating, over-responding, teaching-on-the-fly, desperate-for-volunteers, frustrated-with-co-workers youth leader that we all are. And sometimes…I knock it out of the park. I'm everywhere on social media that you are!

One thought on “Real Stories from SYMC #29”

  1. Seriously… this is humbling. Thank you for the encouragement, and thanks for believing that there is still good in those who have crossed over to “the dark side.”

Leave a comment