Remembering 9/11

Two years after writing this…I still watch with horror as events unfolded that day and stand with pride as heroes unfurled.

Everyone's Called to Youth Ministry

As a kid, I thought it was weird when the grown-ups in my life talked about where they were when JFK was assassinated.  I mean, why was that etched in the memory?  I could understand the first moon walk, the invention of television, or their first Farrah-do.  But why something that was so awful?

Then, as a teenager – I watched the Space Shuttle Challenger disaster unfold right in front of my eyes.  It was terrible – and I remember.  And I started to understand how national tragedy impacts a people….

Enter 9/11.  I remember a lady from my church meeting me in the parking lot…I remember my wife calling and asking me to come home…I remember opening our church for prayer and people weeping as they cried out to God…it’s as fresh to me today as it was 10 years ago.

I cannot watch video from that day without…

View original post 55 more words

Author: Darren Sutton

I'm a dad - husband - veteran youth pastor. I'm trying to follow God's call on my life, despite my own shortcomings & because of His unfailing love.

Leave a Reply

