FAT TUESDAY: Carbalicious

carbohydratesMy world has sufficiently been rocked in the past few weeks.

My approach to weight loss has always been a pretty ‘balanced’ diet low in fat.  But recently, my doctor said  ‘au contraire mon frere.’  You’re better off to watch your carb intake than your fat intake.

I quickly informed him that I thought Atkins was a kook and I had no intention of cutting out all carbs in favor of drinking half and half and eating bacon at every meal (though, in some sick way, it does sound divine!)  He told me not to completely cut out carbs, just to track the kinds of carbs I was consuming – and when.

So I began studying up on complex carbs, simple carbs, carbs on accident, carbs on purpose, carbs, carbs, carbs!

I’m no expert, but it made a butt-load of sense to me.  So I tried it….just for one week.  I cut WAY back on my carbs (I didn’t realize how many carbs I actually ate in a day!)  – and the carbs I did eat, I ate early and with complexity!  :)   I dropped six pounds.

Conversely, I’ve been “testing theories’ the past few weeks (translation =– eating very few vegetables and whatever, whenever carbs.  Let’s just say – the results were equally dramatic.

There’s definitely something to the carb debate.  And though it pains me to become one of ‘those’ people who would opt for colored packets of fake deliciousness as opposed to good, ole’ fashioned sugar, I fear I may need to succumb to the brainwashing.  I wonder if someone can come up with a brainwashed version of ice cream??  (And don’t tell me sorbet, sherbet, or that no sugar added crap — it’s not the same!)  No….I may just have to give that one up altogether….that’s gonna be a tough one.

But on the path to wholeness – touch decisions have to be made.

Author: Darren Sutton

I'm a dad - husband - veteran youth pastor. I'm trying to follow God's call on my life, despite my own shortcomings & because of His unfailing love.

9 thoughts on “FAT TUESDAY: Carbalicious”

  1. I realized this morning that on my little word cloud on my home page, the word ‘carb’ was bigger and sooner than ‘Jesus.’ I, too, know that there is something to this–maybe not for everybody, but in my case, carb-cutting makes a huge difference. Plus, I feel better. And more than I’d like to lose the weight, I’d like to feel better. Blessings on your efforts, my friend!

    1. Definitely NOT to the Whole 30 phase yet! :)

      I basically just tried to cut refined sugars (other than in my coffee – not quite that committed yet.) Made sure all fruit intake was non-tropical (harder than you think down here!!) And went ‘whole-grains or brown on bread, rice, pasta, etc. I also completely cut out soda and mostly ice cream.

  2. There was a guy on Dr. Oz yesterday who made an sweet high protein dessert (like ice cream or pudding )made with ricotta cheese, vanilla extract and sweetener. Dr Oz said it was yummy. I tried to find the recipe online but couldn’t but he said the recipe would be on his site. The doctor was talking about the South Beach diet which is also low carb (I think)

    1. South Beach is low carb, as well. I read a book called the New Sugar Busters….very enlightening. I gotta strat finding some good subs for ice cream….like therapy. :)

  3. Hi Guys! My name isSandi and I am a friend of Scott and Terri Tinman. Am replying to your ice cream cravings. . . . . . .I am a diabetic so I read labels and watch the sugars too. I have found a delicious ice cream treat and am sharing FYI. The product is made by Blue Bunny and is called Sweet Freedom. It comes in a single serve container. No sugar added. 1 container 140 calories; 40 Fat Calories; Right now I can only find it in “Double Strawberry” flavor but it is really delicious and I think it is better taste than regular Strawberry Ice Cream. I single serve container has 29g Carbs. Using the hard to find will power, I can be well satisfied with about 1/3 container of this. . . . . . .Lots better than some of the cardboard tasting stuff and sure better than none at all. Hope you can find it in your area. . . . . . .

Leave a Reply

