Fat Tuesday: Healthy Fat People

76531171“You’re the healthiest fat guy I’ve ever met.”

Yes – another doctor singing the praises of my healthy heart.  Apparently guys as fat as me are ticking time bombs.  The truth is – all of us live on numbered days….some of us just count faster than others.

I’m glad my heart – and pretty much the rest of me – is hanging in there exceptionally well, especially considering the abuse I’ve put it through in the last 20 years.  (But I mean, c’mon, if ice cream and pizza are considered abuse – please don’t file a report!)

Anyway…I’m losing control of this post.  My intent is:  even doctors make some assumptions (granted, with medical evidence backing them, but still) about what fat people can do.  News flash – many of us can do whatever we want.

We might be slower at it than some.  We might not be as good at it as others.  But we aren’t lazy, sloppy, clumsy, or deficient.  And seemingly, some of us aren’t even afflicted with heart disease…yet.  My goal is to keep it that way.

Author: Darren Sutton

I'm a dad - husband - veteran youth pastor. I'm trying to follow God's call on my life, despite my own shortcomings & because of His unfailing love.

1 thought on “Fat Tuesday: Healthy Fat People”

  1. Fat, award-winning Ballroom Dancer understands exactly! Sometimes, though, we are used to show others – fat or not – what they can do if they just stick with it, whatever ‘it’ is. I always saw myself as a frumpy dancer. It wasn’t until years later, a very thin woman came to me and said, “you are the reason I signed up for lessons. I saw you and your teacher flying around the room to a Foxtrot and I thought ‘I want to do THAT'”. Another woman, also more on the heavy side like me, told me that I was her hero because what she saw in me wasn’t a fat dancer, it was a determined athlete with a killer work ethic. I had the joy of watching her perform her first Viennese Waltz (think running gracefully while holding someone’s hand for a minute and a half without stopping). She was stunning. She was also smiling the whole time, something she rarely, if ever did. If God wants to put me through something others think I can’t do so that even one person sees potential in themselves, then so be it!

    Thanks Darren!

Leave a Reply

