Ask an orange…

So over the last 18 months, I’ve had to roll around several different ministry positions.  Most recently, I assumed the roll everyone dreams of when they listen to a really cool radio station – I became the drive-home DJ for a Christian radio station.

In the past 23 years of youth ministry – I’ve filled a lot of roles.  I’ve been the kids pastor, the worship pastor, the outreach pastor, the minister of discipline (an unfortunate misprint on my business card – but accurate, nonetheless).  More recently I’ve been the preaching/teaching pastor.  And currently – I’m rocking the radio pastor gig.

I have found elements of each tour that I really loved.  (And trust me, I never even thought that possible with the whole preaching thing.)  But, yes, even in that I found some joys and treasures.  During this time of transition, I’ve found myself (and others) wondering if I should just be happy with any ministry.  “Bloom where you’re planted.”  “Well at least it’s something ministry-related.”  “Maybe it’s time to consider moving on to a new field of ministry.”

I have come to the conclusion that it’s like asking an orange to be content being a carrot.  Both are good for you.  Both share the same color palette.  Both….well, no.  That’s about it.

Ask an orange – ‘can’t you just be content being a carrot?’

NO!  Carrots are long and skinny – I’m round.  Carrots grow in the ground – I swing through the breeze on high-hung branches.  Carrots are crispy. Crunchy.  I am tender and juicy.  You can’t ask me to be a vegetable.  We land in the food group on the pyramid – but we’re just not the same.

I am a youth pastor.  That’s it.  I cannot be a kids pastor – a senior pastor – a ministry director for some non-profit thing.  Are they all ministry??  YES!  And wonderful ones.  But there is nothing more wonderful than knowing your life’s purpose.  And I do.

So I am content to navigate this season…and I know I’m hanging out with the carrots and the jicama in this salad.  But I’m an orange.  I cannot be anything else.  And I’m proud of that.

Do you know your purpose?  Live it!!

Author: Darren Sutton

I'm a dad - husband - veteran youth pastor. I'm trying to follow God's call on my life, despite my own shortcomings & because of His unfailing love.

2 thoughts on “Ask an orange…”

Leave a Reply

