Real Stories from SYMC #9

Bill Holleran.

This guy is a true veteran – gray hair and all!!  I remember after spending some time with Bill thinking a) this guy might be in his 50’s, but he is still SO relevant to students, and b) I hope I can be him when I grow up.  People have been informing me I was getting ‘too old’ for youth ministry since I was 30.  Thirteen years later (you do the math) I know that not to be true.  Bill (and others like him) prove every day that your body has nothing on your heart, brain, and Spirit when it comes to student ministry.  And here’s what I truly love about Bill – he’s not that dopey, grand-fatherly youth guy who kids love like they love their family dog….just because he’s been around for so long they can’t remember a time without him.  Kids connect with Bill because he’s all up in their business.  He KNOWS them.  He ENGAGES them.  He LOVES them.

You can be better at doing those things, regardless of your age, by attending the Simply Youth Ministry Conference.  And Bill can challenge you to stay in it for the long haul.

Author: Darren Sutton

I'm a dad - husband - veteran youth pastor. I'm trying to follow God's call on my life, despite my own shortcomings & because of His unfailing love.

Leave a Reply

