Real Stories from SYMC #12

Justin Dougan.

My jaw dropped.  I just heard that Justin was a volunteer youth leader….a VOLUNTEER!!?  Having stalked Justin significantly on Facebook, I just assumed that he was a paid youth pastor.  His commitment to his students, their families, and their church is so obvious. I don’t know many paid staff people who approach their ministry with as much passion and integrity as Justin.  And I’ll be honest – more than once I’ve though ‘maybe I’ll just do this as a volunteer and there will be a little more appreciation and a lot less headache.’  FALSE!!  Justin wades into the thick of ministry just like the rest of us – he just has to do it after he completes his full-time job.  And he gets no more appreciation and less headache – AND HE STAYS IN!!!  I continue to be astonished by his commitment as a volunteer to fully meeting the ministry needs of his community.

SYMC is for ALL youth workers – paid or otherwise.  Your life will be enriched by hanging out with Justin when you get there – or hanging out with him here.

Author: Darren Sutton

I'm a dad - husband - veteran youth pastor. I'm trying to follow God's call on my life, despite my own shortcomings & because of His unfailing love.

2 thoughts on “Real Stories from SYMC #12”

Leave a Reply

