Real Stories from SYMC #48

Liz Simmonds.

When I think of Liz, I think ‘salt of the earth.’  But I just realized, I don’t truly know what that means.  Thank God for Google.

Salt of the Earth = originating from the Bible, it means someone of great honesty, reliability, and kindness.  So now I can proclaim with authority, Liz Simmonds is the salt of the earth.

I watched her serve youth workers and conference leaders last year – under the weather, over-taxed, and volunteer.  She was always smiling.  She always had something encouraging to say.  I never walked into the resource center where Liz wasn’t jetting off to meet someone’s need with a smile, a laugh, a wave, or all three.  I went to pick up a packet of materials Liz had compiled for me and found a sweet little sticky note proclaiming a blessing as I went off to lead my connect group.

Liz serves and encourages not because she is forced to, compensated to, or even because she is asked to.  I imagine that she serves and encourages because, for Liz, it’s her spiritual service of worship.   I love that about her…..you will, too.

Register for SYMC!!  Connect with Liz on Facebook.

Author: Darren Sutton

I'm a dad - husband - veteran youth pastor. I'm trying to follow God's call on my life, despite my own shortcomings & because of His unfailing love.

2 thoughts on “Real Stories from SYMC #48”

  1. Liz Simmonds is a complete rock star (but without the eye glitter, fire hazard hairspray and leopard pants)! I’ve never seen her without a smile on her face and when I’m around her I’m challenged to be a better person.

    Thank you Liz for all of your heart and service for the Kingdom!

    1. you are so very sweet! it’s an honor & privilege to serve…i get to be with the most amazing people! looking forward to hugging your necks very soon! :)

      PS leopard pants aren’t a good idea for anyone. i may qualify for what not to wear, but i do know this fashion fact…

Leave a Reply

