Blogservations

I’ve started paying attention to the blogs I read.

Wait. What?  What I mean is that I’ve started noticing some trends in the blogs I read…and those I skim….and those I skip.

What are the hooks?

1.  Short – but substantive.  If it’s more than three paragraphs, I usually don’t read deeply.  Conversely, if it’s only three words, I don’t remember it.

2.  Regular.  Meaning…regualr, not constipated, but not diarrhea.  Once or twice weekly keeps my attention.  Less than that and I forget you exist.   More than that and I think you talk too much.

3.  Practical.  Give me a take away.  I like something that challenges my thinking or practice.

 

Some things don’t matter – at all.

1.  Site design.  I’m reading off Google Reader – I’m only going to your site if I want to make a comment or see what else you’ve written that I’ve missed.  I don’t spend enough time on your site for the design to matter – at all.

2.  Advertisements.  I hardly ever look at them.  It’s nice that they’re available, just in case I have a click-minded moment – but your sponsors don’t drive me to you.

3.  Pedigree.  If the content is solid, I don’t care if the writer is famous, known, or connected.

Just some observations I’ve made about what keeps me and what doesn’t.  (And I’ll confess, I don’t always get all these right on my own blog!)

What matters to you?

 

Author: Darren Sutton

I'm a dad - husband - veteran youth pastor. I'm trying to follow God's call on my life, despite my own shortcomings & because of His unfailing love.

6 thoughts on “Blogservations”

  1. I go through seasons with the blogs I follow. Sometimes Im looking for purely academic stuff. Sometimes I just want to laugh. Sometimes I need some ministry tips, pointers, connection points. But I do agree with Jeremy, it’s funny how what drove me here initially was the title, that and I follow Darren on twitter.

  2. Good stuff…but I do not like too many re-quotes…original ideas and topics that make me think without giving me all the answers are the best for me

  3. I agree with your points, specifically the length. Some bloggers spend way too many words to make one simple point. If I read your first paragraph and it has nothing to do with the title, I usually just skip it.

Leave a Reply

