Bucket List

So tonight I watched the movie The Bucket List for the first time.  I know – it took a while to get around to it.  I’m not a big Nicholson fan.  His face is just too hard for me to pay 10 bucks to look at for 2 hours.  I’m sure he’d probably say the same about mine.

Of course, most people who watch the movie – based on the premise that we should make a list of things we’d like to do before we ‘kick the bucket’ – inevitably spend some time thinking about their own bucket list.

Mine??

I’d love to take Katie to the Mayan Ruins.  I’m not much into that.  I’d much rather have a swanky hotel and room service than a hike through a rain forest to a bunch of dilapidated rock buildings – but she loves it, so I want to do it.

I want to kiss her on the beach…in Bermuda.

I want to buy her a dining room set with matching chairs…that someone else hasn’t owned first.

I want to help her open Katie’s Confections and watch it become the fastest growing ‘sweet tooth spot’ in Corpus.

I want to enroll her in a cooking class with Alton Brown, only to have it launch her career on Food Network.

As I was enumerating this list, I realized – I don’t really have a ‘bucket list’ that doesn’t include her.  The day she married me, I accomplished the only ‘bucket list’ item I ever truly wanted. Because of her, I have lived my bucket list for the last 20 years – serving Jesus by serving students with a woman whose shoes I am unfit to unlace.

If I got a death sentence today, I would die complete, happy, and without regret because of her.

Thank you, Jesus.  And thank you, Katie.  (Who will probably never read this – because she’d rather be geocaching or walking the halls of some boring museum than sitting at home reading blogs on the Internet!!)    :)

Author: Darren Sutton

I'm a dad - husband - veteran youth pastor. I'm trying to follow God's call on my life, despite my own shortcomings & because of His unfailing love.

Leave a Reply

